become an arkipal




The Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS) is a coalition of small island and low-lying coastal countries that share similar development challenges and concerns about the environment, especially their vulnerability to the adverse effects of global climate change. It functions primarily as an ad hoc lobby and negotiating voice for small island developing States (SIDS) within the United Nations system.

AOSIS has a membership of 44 States and observers, drawn from all oceans and regions of the world: Africa, Caribbean, Indian Ocean, Mediterranean, Pacific and South China Sea. Thirty-seven are members of the United Nations, close to 28 percent of developing countries, and 20 percent of the UN’s total membership. Together, SIDS communities constitute some five percent of the global population.

Member States of AOSIS work together primarily through their New York diplomatic Missions to the United Nations. AOSIS functions on the basis of consultation and consensus. Major policy decisions are taken at ambassadorial-level plenary sessions. The Alliance does not have a formal charter. There is no regular budget, nor a secretariat. With the Permanent Representative of Nauru as its current chairman, AOSIS operates, as it did under previous chairmanships, out of the chairman’s Mission to the United Nations.


Small Island developing States (SIDS) have their own peculiar vulnerabilities and characteristics, so the difficulties they face in the pursuit of sustainable development are particularly severe and complex.

  • Small size
  • Isolation
  • Climate change and sea-level rise
  • Natural and environmental disasters

for instance, small size can actually be a blessing, and several SIDS, including the Maldives, Tuvalu and several Caribbean island states, are working to achieve “climate neutrality” through the use of renewable energy and other approaches. Another island territory, Tokelau, recently began producing 100% of its energy from solar sources. And as the vice-president of Seychelles remarked in the most recent General Assembly general debate, SIDS are ideal locations for pilot projects in renewable energy and other areas, which can then be rolled out in other countries on a larger scale. SIDS are also leading the way in ocean conservation efforts, and some of the largest Marine Protected Areas in the world are being established in the Pacific and incorporated into the Pacific Island Forum Oceanscape initiative.

As is the case for nations around the world, SIDS are making variable progress toward the Millennium Development Goals, which have 2015 as their projected endpoint. Notable gains have been made in some areas of health, education, and gender parity, while other goals continue to prove challenging for some SIDS. SIDS in all regions are actively involved in shaping the post-2015 development agenda.

AIMS Region
(Atlantic, Indian Ocean, Mediterranean, and South China Sea)

  • Cape Verde
  • Comoros
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • São Tomé and Principe
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore

Caribbean Region

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago

Pacific Region

  • Cook Islands
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia, Federated States of
  • Nauru
  • Niue
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

Alliance of Small Island States (Ger)

Die AOSIS-Staaten sind eine Vereinigung von kleinen Inseln und Küstenregionen die etwas tiefer gelegen sind. Diese Regionen teilen ein und dasselbe Problem: die Auswirkungen des globalen Klimawandels.

Die AOSIS-Staaten bestehen aus 43 Mitglieds- und sogenannten beobachtenden Staaten aus allen Meeresregionen dieser Erde. 37 dieser 43 Staaten sind Mitglied der UNO.

Die AOSIS-Staaten haben es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht dem Klimawandel den Kampf anzusagen, d.h. sich gegen die globale Erwärmung einzusetzen, da sie durch den daraus resultierenden ansteigenden Meeresspiegel erheblich bedroht sind. Aber nicht nur der ansteigende Meeresspiegel ist eine Bedrohung, auch die Unwetter und das Korallensterben bergen eine immer größer werdende Gefahr für die Inseln, Küstenregionen und natürlich die Bewohner dieser Regionen.

Den Vorsitz der AOSIS_Staaten hat seit 2011 Marlene Moses aus Nauru.

Mitglieder der AOSIS-Staaten:

1.Antigua und Barbuda 22. Nauru
2. Bahamas 23. Niue
3. Barbados 24. Palau
4. Belize 25. Papua-Neuguinea
5. Cook Islands 26. Samoa
6. Dominica 27. Seychellen
7. Fiji 28. Salomonen
8. Grenada 29. Sao Tomé und Principe
9. Guinea-Bissau 30. Singapur
10. Guyana 31. St. Kitts und Nevis
11. Haiti 32. St. Lucia
12. Jamaika 33. St. Vincent und die Grenadinen
13. Kap Verde 34. Suriname
14. Kiribati 35. Tonga
15. Komoren 36. Trinidad und Tobago
16. Kuba 37. Tuvalu
17. Malediven 38. Vanuatu
18. Malta 39. Zypern
19. Marshall Islands
20. Maritius
21. Mikronesien
Beobachtende Staaten:
1. Amerikansisch-Samoa
2. Amerikanische Jungferninseln
3. Guam
4. Niederländische Antillen